News Politics

10 Individuals, Including Kufuor’s Daughter, Endorse Bawumia’s Nomination Forms

NPP Constitution Requires Members of Good Standing to Endorse Flagbearer Candidates

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has a constitutional provision stating that only members of good standing are eligible to endorse candidates for various positions. Specifically, for flagbearer aspirants, each region must provide 10 signatories of constituency party members.

Shortly after Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia received his nomination forms for the upcoming flagbearer contest on November 4, 2023, the Ashanti Region swiftly organized its endorsements. This effort was spearheaded by the dynamic Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NPP, Chairman Bernard Antwi-Boasiako, popularly known as Chairman Wontumi. He was supported by Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Majority Leader in Parliament and Member of Parliament for Suame, Nana Nkansah-Boadu Ayeboafo, Ama Ampomah Addo-Kufuor, all members of the National Council, Dr. Isaac Yaw Opoku, Member of Parliament (MP) for Offinso South, Victoria Nyarko Kusi, the Second Vice Chairperson of the NPP in the Ashanti Region, and Daniel Kwasi Adusei, a founding father of the party.

Other endorsers include Kwame Antwi, the Constituency Chairman of Nsuta-Kwamang-Beposo, George Kofi Adjei, also known as Geokad, the Constituency Chairman for Nhyiaeso, and Charles Dickson Ampofo, the Chairman for Coordinators, who are all special voters at the congress.

These prominent personalities have endorsed Vice President Dr. Bawumia due to his overwhelming popularity and support among grassroots members of the party in the Ashanti Region, known as the party’s stronghold. Dr. Bawumia has been instrumental in spearheading and championing numerous government initiatives, contributing to his strong grassroots following.

Notably, Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, former Trade and Industry Minister John Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Assin Central MP Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, former Minister for Food and Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie-Akoto, former Minister of Energy Boakye Agyarko, former Minister for Railway Development Joe Ghartey, former General Secretary of the NPP Kwabena Agyei Agyapong, former MP for Mampong Francis Addai Nimoh, Senior Lecturer at the University of Education, Winneba (UEW) Eric Sakyi Nketiah, and former MP for Offinso North constituency and Minister for Regional Cooperation and NEPAD Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku have all announced their intentions to contest in the November 4 primaries.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
Choose Image
Choose Video