News Politics

“Despite Minority’s Opposition, NDC MPs Vote in Favor of All 6 of Akufo-Addo’s Nominees

On Friday, March 24, 2023, some minority caucus MPs decided to vote in favour of all six ministerial nominees proposed by President Nana Akufo-Addo, despite earlier threats by the caucus’ leadership to force a vote stalemate in the hung parliament in order to prevent the ministerial approvals.

Despite the 137-137 split in the legislature, all six nominees obtained enough votes to prevent a stalemate, leading to their approval by parliament. As a result, Adansi Asokwa lawmaker K.T. Hammond will now become the Minister of Trade and Industry, replacing Mr Alan Kyerematen who resigned a few weeks ago to focus on his presidential bid. Nhyiaeso MP Stephen Amoah will serve as his deputy.

Abetifi MP Bryan Acheampong will replace the resigned minister Owusu Afryie Akoto, who is vying for the flagbearer slot of the governing New Patriotic Party. Former Information Minister Stephen Asamoah Boateng will return as the Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, while Mr Osei Bonsu Amoah, MP for Akuapem South, will become a Minister of State at the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation, and Rural Development, where he previously served as a deputy.

Karaga MP Mohammed Amin Adam will now serve as the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, replacing Mr Charles Adu Boahen who was sacked by President Nana Akufo-Addo following a corruption exposè by investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
Choose Image
Choose Video