NPP Flagbearer Hopefuls Commit to Remain Party Members Despite Primary Outcome

The four contenders vying for the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) flagbearer position have pledged not to leave the party should they lose the primary election on Saturday. This commitment was formalized during a meeting between the National Council of Elders and the aspirants.

Following the meeting, the General Secretary of the party, Justin Frimpong Koduah, announced that all four aspirants had signed an undertaking. In essence, they have agreed to accept the results of the primary, prioritize the party’s interests, and remain members of the party even if they do not emerge as the winner.

The aspirants have further committed to “implement and uphold the party’s established mechanisms, adhere to the party’s specified timelines, and respect the decisions made by the party’s delegates.”

The Chairman of the Council of Elders expressed concern about the party’s internal divisions caused by personal interests. He called on all presidential aspirants to avoid fostering division and to maintain unity within the party after the upcoming presidential primary.

The leading contenders in the presidential primary are Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, with Kennedy Agyapong, Member of Parliament for Assin Central, being his closest rival. The race also includes former Minister for Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and former Mampong MP Francis Addai-Nimoh.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
Choose Image
Choose Video