The Oyoko Abusua or Clan is considered the First Family or clan if not the most powerful in the Asante Kingdom because it is the ruling family of the occupant of the Golden Stool. The Ayokofuo (plural) have up to date tried to maintain that, it is forbidden for two Ayokofuo to marry irrespective of town or tribe. There are only a few such marriages.

The Oyokuo family is said to have come out of the Ekuona family, “Awekoɔ” (people who ate ‘ɛkoɔ’). It is a clan who were originally part of the Ɛkoɔna.

Oral traditions indicate it is a taboo for an Ɛkoɔ-nana to eat the ɛkoɔ. Those who breached this taboo and ate an Ɛkuo were derided and known as “awekoɔ”.

Nonetheless, Ekuonas and Oyoko (Awekuo) regarded themselves as one family. That is why the Ekuona family of Kokofu/Asaman always vies for the Golden Stool whenever it becomes vacant.

The first known Oyoko woman was Nana Ekuru who had migrated from Adanse to settle in Asuom. She had two children called Nana Yita and Nana Ankyewaa Nyame. Nana Yita was the firstborn of whom the Oyoko-Adako (Nsuta) family descended from. While Ankyewaa Nyame is the ancestress of Kokofu and Kumasi Oyoko.

Nana Ankyewaa Nyame and her people migrated from Asuom to Betenase in the present Akyem area. Since they did not have the ambition to stay there they renamed the place “Yesii-ha-kwa or Asii-ha-kwa”, this later changed to become Asiakwa.

After leaving Asiakwa it is believed that Ankyewaa Nyame and her children emerged from a hole at Asantemanso in Asumenya. Nana Ankyewaa Nyame had the following children: Nana Twum, and Nana Antwi who ruled the Oyoko family together, Nana Kwabea Amanfi, their younger brother who succeeded them as the next ruler, Nana Pinaman Panin who was the first queen of Kokofu and the direct great grandmother of the first Asantehene King Osei Tutu l, and Nana Oti Akenten who moved the Ayokofuo from Kokofu to Kwaaman, which later became Kumase.

The Oyoko-Adakofuo are original members of the Oyoko clan. According to history during their migration, they got to a place called “Odaso” i.e. sleeping place. The Adakos wanted to rest while others wanted to proceed. The group that delayed or slept were then described as “mo ada, ama yen ko”…to wit, you were asleep when we were migrating, which later became Adakofuo.

After the death of Opemsuo Osei Tutu, the first Asantehene, the issue of ‘Adakos’ came up strongly over who to succeed Opemsuo Osei Tutu I, and the differences led to the first family feud between Nsuta (Adakos) and Kumase. This led to the migration of Nana Abena Pokuaa (Abela Pokou) and her faction from Nsuta to establish the Baoule Kingdom of modern-day Ivory Coast.

According to Dwaben (Juaben) tradition, they are descendants of Adifa and her daughter Aberewa Ampem. The 1st Dwabenhene is believed to be from Asumegya Asantemanso and the ancestress of this stool is called Aberewa Ampim.

The present occupant of the Golden Stool is the direct descendant of Nana Ankyewaa Nyame in the 21st generation. The patriarchs of the Oyoko family are Twum and Antwi of Asantemanso and Kokofu and their totem is the falcon (Akorɔma).

Wɔbɔ wɔn mmrane sɛ “Akorɔma a ɔfa adeɛ a ɔfa no bum nanso ɔde kyerɛ”.

Asantehene a ɔte Kɔkɔɔ soɔ no akraboa yɛ akorɔma. Ayokofoɔ piesie ne Asantehene, wɔn Manu ne Dwabenhene Nana Yaw Sarpon na wɔn Mɛnsa ne Nsutahene Nana Amankwaa.

Their symbolic qualities are statesmanship, patience and bravery.

If an Oyokuo greets you their responses are “Yaa Eburu”, “Yaa Oyokuoba” or “Yaa Odohyie Nana”.

Here are some of the Asante States and towns that belong to the Oyoko family: Kumasi, Dwaben, Kokofu, Bekwae, Adwumakasekese, New Juaben (Koforidua), Worawora (Oti), Kwabre-Kenyasi, Obogu, Asankare, Juansa, Juaso, Mamponten, Bogyae, Dadieso, Bankame, Adubiase, Pampaso, Kenyase, Ahenkro and Boagyaa, Dadiase, Oyoko (Effiduase), Atobiase, Sawua, Nyaboo, Atwedee, Adumasa, Ohwim, Sreso, Ayebiase (KNUST Village).

Adako: Nsuta, Kuntanase, Baoule (Ivory Coast), Akokofe, Ntonso, Asaman, Adako-Gyakye.


Akanfuo Amammere (Comprehensive Notes on Oral Literature, Customs and Institutions) by Akwasi Agyeman Prempeh.

An Outline of Asante History (Volume 2) by Osei Kwadwo.

Mr Yaw Afreh.

Credit:Asante Nation Facebook page

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
Choose Image
Choose Video