Alan Kyerematen Pulls Out of NPP Presidential Aspirant Race

Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, one of the aspirants vying for the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) presidential flagbearer position, has formally withdrawn from the competition. This significant announcement was made through an official statement dated September 5, 2023.

In his statement, Kyerematen confirmed his honorable withdrawal from the upcoming Presidential Primaries, slated for November 4, 2023. He cited several reasons for his decision, including concerns over the intimidation of campaign agents and a perceived bias in favor of a particular candidate.

Kyerematen, who had previously secured the third position in the party’s special delegates conference held on August 26, expressed deep unease about the conduct of the ongoing race. He decried the unprecedented levels of intimidation reported across various voting centers in all sixteen regions of the party.

Furthermore, Kyerematen highlighted a distressing incident involving his polling agent in the North East region, who suffered severe damage to his eyesight while diligently ensuring compliance with the rules and regulations set by the Presidential Elections Committee.

Kyerematen strongly condemned various acts of violence and collusion reported in different voting centers, describing them as appalling, unconscionable, and despicable. He emphasized his unwavering commitment to the safety and well-being of those associated with his campaign.

As a result of Kyerematen’s withdrawal, four candidates now remain in the race for the NPP’s presidential flagbearer position. These candidates include Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong, former Agric Minister Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and former MP for Mampong, Francis Addai-Nimoh.

The balloting process for the presidential flagbearer position is scheduled for September 6, 2023. It’s essential to note that earlier, on August 31, Boakye Agyarko had refrained from participating in a run-off election organized to break the tie between himself and fellow flagbearer hopeful Francis Addai-Nimoh. Agyarko contested that the new process breached the party’s constitution and, therefore, opted out of the contest.

This decision was conveyed through a letter addressed to Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, Chairman of the NPP’s Presidential Elections Committee, dated August 31, 2023.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
Choose Image
Choose Video